Add Staying Power To Your New Year Resolutions

new-years-resolutions-on-blackboard1

I hate New Year’s resolutions.  Scratch that.  I think what I hate are lazy resolutions. You know—quit smoking, lose weight, eat healthier, exercise, blah, blah.  I feel like if you are going to pick one of the standard resolutions, the least you could do is be a little bit more creative.  So I’m sharing ways to add more flair to some of the most common New Year’s resolutions.  After repeating these a few times, I’m sure you’ll be committed to keeping them, even if it’s only to stop sounding ridiculous as you say them aloud!

Instead of:    I’m going to quit smoking

Just say:       I’m going to stop going out in the freezing cold, wet rain and sweltering heat to have meaningless conversations with people I don’t even like.

Instead of:    I’m going to start eating healthier

Just say:       I’m going to stop having dessert for breakfast—aka donuts and muffins.

Instead of:    I’m going to exercise

Just say:       I’m going to stop faking injuries so I can use the motorized cart when shopping to avoid walking.

Instead of:    I’m going to stop shopping to save money

Just say:       I will only buy things on sale.  Or when I have to attend a special event. Or when I gain weight.  Or when I lose weight. Or when I’m having a bad day.  Or when I’m having a really great day.

Instead of:    I’m going to be more spontaneous

Just say:       The next time someone asks me to go out last minute, I will strongly consider it, even if I have already taken off my bra for the night.

Good luck and Happy New Year!

Comments
One Response to “Add Staying Power To Your New Year Resolutions”
  1. mochadad says:

    These are some good, practical tips. I will definitely apply them to my life.

Leave a Reply

